My Pint-Sized Teacher

img_5208

For years my favorite Bible verse was Proverbs 15:15, “All the days of the oppressed are wretched, but the cheerful heart has a continual feast.” This verse came to mind today as I was watching Abigail play. As I get ready in the mornings I put her on the couch, surrounded by toys, and she picks them up and places them in new piles. It is one of my favorite parts of our day. Abigail is often in her own world. She is often not aware of her environment, so to see her play with the toys around her in her own simple way is wonderful!

But that last line of the verse states, “…the cheerful heart has a continual feast.” I think that is a perfect description of our little girl. Abigail has the most cheerful heart you will find. Her smile lights up the room, and her giggle makes me laugh every time. I pray every night that her joyous spirit stays with her her whole life.

Joy is something this world lacks. We are surrounded by short-lived moments of happiness, but true soul reaching joy is not something you see. I see Abigail’s joyous spirit and I am thankful for a child’s innocence. She does not know she is different. Abigail does not worry about where her food is coming from, or what she will wear. She does not concern herself with deadlines and appointments. She could care less whether I was dressed in the latest fashions or in my dirty old sweats. Abigail does not judge people based on their outer appearance – if they talk to her she loves them. She is completely innocent to all things.

I desire a child’s innocent spirit. I desire joy. I desire faith. These are things I am learning from Abigail. I want a continual feast on God’s Word and His Truth, and I pray I find joy that can only come from knowing God in an intimate relationship with Him. Joy that cannot be taken away or downsized by life’s grievances. I want to laugh at the days ahead as the women in Proverbs 31 did. My overall goal this year is to press on as Paul said in Philippians 3:12-14. Press on to a renewed spirit. Press on to understanding and showing the love of God. Press on to joy unspeakable. And I am thankful to have a little helper to encourage me each and every day!

One thought on “My Pint-Sized Teacher

Leave a Reply

