Labor of Love

img_5143

I was never one of those girls who dreamed about getting married or having kids. Honestly, my sophomore year of college I would have told you that I was quite content being a single lady in love with God for the rest of my life. But then the next year a man would step into my life and change all that. His name is Jordan, and we have now been married for almost three years. Within two months of dating we both knew we would be married to each other.

He wanted kids right away. I wanted to wait. Having kids was something to do eventually, but I didn’t know a thing about babies or children and having one of my own did not sound appealing. But with some compromise, we decided to have a child six months into our marriage.

Well two months after Abigail was born the craziness began. We knew then, and in the months that followed, that our little girl was not going to be what they call ‘normal’.

I wanted to be a stay at home mom for my child’s sake, and especially for Abigail’s sake. I am blessed through our family and my hard-working husband to be able to do just that. Some days I sit back at my freshly vacuumed home, watching my sleeping child beside my handsome hubby and think I have got it all and I am so blessed. Some days I look at the mounting to do list, my child who needs me so much, and my husband who works hard and wonder how we will ever make it. But that is life – living each day in faith and knowing in the end I love my family and God loves me.

Being a stay at home mom requires a lot of different things. I thought about these eleven things being a stay at home mom means to me.

1) Full-time maid – mopping up spills, wiping dirty faces, picking up toys and lost Cheerios, doing laundry, sweeping and vacuuming, wiping snotty noses…all the not so glamorous things.

2) Creator and entrepreneur – coming up with new activities, creating moments to remember, capturing each moment, and often actually running a side business

3) Being Patient – living in the moment, hour-long lunches, one more book or one more minute to play, getting dressed for two and fighting to get that little hand in the even littler hole

4) Being Selfless – watching Mickey Mouse when you want to watch your own show, one more push on the swing instead of finishing that paper you were working on, it means one more peekaboo instead of one more Facebook scroll

5) Being Organized – keeping up with appointments, schedules, bed times and snack times, making and sticking to grocery lists and budgets

6) Being present – remembering they are only little once, and this could be the last goodnight snuggle

7) Being a wife first – in the midst of being a full-time nanny, housekeeper and business woman this often gets forgotten. I am called to first be my husband’s help-meet; to encourage and cheer him on. I’m just glad he loves me in my ponytail and t-shirt.

8) Being a Teacher – teaching them about life, relationships, skills, how to learn and explore and dream

9) Showing Love – I will never know God’s love for His children, but having a child does teach you more about unconditional love then you will ever know.

10) Asking Forgiveness – yes, you may have to seek forgiveness from your family, but I mostly mean forgiving yourself. Not beating yourself up over mistakes. Those moments you cop-out to have a little me time. Some people call it pseudo parenting. You may call it bathroom time. Taking time for you is not a sin. Do not beat yourself up over mistakes. Seek forgiveness and press on!

11) Being a Role Model – those little eyes are watching every move you make, every word you say and everything in between. We should be modeling godly marriages, right relationships, communication, time with God, and basic morals and manners.

It is truly a labor of love. Being a stay at home mom is a full-time plus overtime job. But every moment is worth it as little children are only little for a little while. So to all stay at home mommas may you learn to love the labor that you do every single day!!

Leave a Reply

