An Altered Pace

I am reading Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst, and she had a wonderful quote sandwiched in chapter 2 that just really spoke to me. “Jesus doesn’t participate in the rat race. He’s into the slower rhythms of life, like abiding, delighting, and dwelling – all words that require us to trust Him with our place and our pace. Words used to describe us being with Him.” As I think about an average day in my life do these words describe myself and my family? These words challenged my heart because they seem so inviting, but do we abide in God on a daily basis?

This makes me think of what does a day in the life of us look like? I have wondered what word to use to describe a day of our life, and the one word I would describe it is peaceful. That is probably not what you, or even I think of initially, but as I have thought about writing this post peaceful is what I have concluded.

Our day is filled with what everybody else’s day is filled with. Morning and bedtime routines, running errands, playing, napping, cleaning, eating, talking and laughter, and simply being a family. If you came to spend the day with us it would not be anything special, but everyday is special to me.

img_5364

I don’t always let Abigail make a mess while she eats, but she was so cute playing with her rice the other night. 

Having Abigail has taught me to slow down. You cannot rush with any child. There is no last-minute lunch dates with your best friend or random adventures with your husband. Every child slows you down to some extent. You have to take time to take care of them and love them. But with Abigail those things are slowed down even more.

Every simple routine thing takes a little longer to complete. Whether it is meal time, or getting clothed, or buckling her into her car seat things just take an extra minute with her. But through that I am learning patient endurance. It is not something someone picks to learn, but it is teaching me that life is not meant to be rushed. Jesus was intentional with every thing He did, so being intentional and present in every moment is something I strive for even if I fail often.

img_5280

Soaking in every bit of this beautiful weather we can!

I am a schedule and to-do list junkie. I love lists and schedules and I often get too caught up in them. It is my strength and my weakness. I love routine and order. But Abigail is showing me that a list is not as important as quality time. A schedule is not as important as showing love. And a routine can be changed and the world will not quit revolving. Abigail takes me out of my comfort zone a lot of times. I make a pre-planned schedule of the day in my head each morning and rarely does it ever play out the way I think it will. Abigail ends up liking an activity more than I thought she would, so we play a little longer than expected. Or she ends up not napping which means I do not get the chores I was planning to get done. She messes up my made up schedules a lot but it is teaching me to let go of them and just relax and enjoy each moment.

Today the world says rush, rush, rush. Do this event or this activity or make sure your child is in this certain thing. The comparison game is stronger than ever through social media. But I am learning not to listen to these messages the world screams. Instead I choose to listen to what my God whispers through my soul and time spent with Him. It is hard to compare Abigail to other children. I used to, but as she got further and further behind toddlers her age the comparison game quickly came to an end. She is unique and truly in her own category. She’s already backtracked on every single milestone so now any progress she makes is an answered pray. She teaches me to slow down and let peace reign because God has created her exactly the way He did for a reason.

img_5234

Our little, smiley blessing

Abigail does not run around and talk about toddler things. She does not scream or fuss or throw fits. These are not things I wish. I want her to walk and talk and communicate with us. I want her to interact with her environment. But because of the way she is our life is peaceful. We have other stresses in our life. But Jordan is always so good about reminding me that there is no need to worry about things that are out of our control. That is hard for me because I like control, and I like knowing what tomorrow holds and what next month holds. But we are living in the unknown with our little one. And we are learning to embrace the unknown.

I want to do better and live in each moment. I want the pace in our house to slow down. I want my home to be a place of rest and shelter. I want the peace of God to reign in our lives everyday no matter the situation. The days we live may pass slowly sometimes, but the years are flying by. I do not want to miss a moment of Abigail’s life. A day in our life might not be extraordinary, but it is what we make of it. And we are trying to make it the best life, full of abundant blessing!


“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7

My prayer for you, dear reader, is that the peace of God finds its way into your heart and life today. It is a wonderful thing to rest in God’s able hands. May you surrender all your cares and burdens over to the Lord, for He can do much more with them than you ever could.

2 thoughts on “An Altered Pace

Leave a Reply

