Delight in Your Children

img_5549

What is it about your children that makes you so proud of them? I remember playing a newly wed type of game with my family when Abigail was only about three months old. One of the questions was, ‘What are you most proud of?’ It was a no brainer for Jordan and I. Abigail won hands down. Even at three months old, when she had not even barely moved yet, we were so proud of her. We were proud of her beauty, of her sweet smiles, and the fact we had come as far as we had with her at that time.

Pride in your children is like none other. And today I was reminded of how proud I am of Abigail. We laugh at her a lot about how ‘lazy’ she is, and how she does not do anything. But as the physical therapist was talking to me about Abigail’s improvements these last couple of months my pride in her was like none other. She has been working so hard. You can see how she strains to try to sit up, and how she wants to reach out for things that interest her. She is trying so hard to roll over and sit up. Her progress amazes me. To remember her at 6 or even 8 months with zero interest in anything, and now to see her laughing at a balloon we bought her for Valentine’s Day it makes my heart smile.

Pride in your children makes you puff out your chest and say, ‘Yes, that one is mine.’ Pride in your children makes you smile when you see them conquer that fear or when they succeed in the challenge that was facing them. Pride in your children makes you linger by their bed at night to watch them sleep and see how much they have grown since that day you brought them home. Pride in your children allows you to fight for them like you would never fight for anyone else. Pride in your children makes you celebrate their successes and cry in their defeats. Pride in your children is to have a delight in them.

As I write this I am thinking about all the things I am proud of about Abigail. I think I am going to write a list in the next days to look back on in the tough times of frustration and tiredness. I love lists. I love having tangible evidence of my thoughts and memories to refer back to at any time. In what ways are you proud of your own children? Tell them those specific things and ponder them in your heart. Some of my proudest moments of Abigail’s that I can recall are the moments she ‘stood’ for the first time, the time she said ‘mama’, and the time she handed me a toy. Her first birthday party and her dedication. The way she behaved on the day we had her MRI and the first time we gave blood. These are such simple things, but when I think about them they mean so much to me!

I hope Abigail always knows how proud Jordan and I are of her. Right now she cannot grasp that, but I know she knows she is loved and well cared for. She trusts us fully and depends on us for everything. Her smile and joy are contagious. I am so very proud of my little blonde headed love. She has come such a long way, and I am excited to see what her future holds!


“Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring a reward from him. Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are children born in one’s youth. Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them. They will not be put to shame when they contend with their opponents in court.”

Psalm 127:3-5, NIV

One thought on “Delight in Your Children

  1. Stacy says:

    Heather-wow! What a sweet, special message. I loved reading this. Abigail is such a beautiful, smart little Cutie. I love her and understand why you are so proud of her. Her smile lights up the room. She is blessed to have parents like you and Jordan. I love you guys

    Like

Leave a Reply

