The Need for Community

community

We have been living in our new home for almost five months now. I came here not knowing anyone except Jordan’s family. It was hard leaving behind my family and friends. Most days it is just Abigail and me because Jordan works such a random schedule. It gets lonely at times, and at other times I love it because I have found renewal for my weary soul in the quiet moments of life. But this past week I was reminded how important community is. Community as defined by Webster’s dictionary is, “a feeling of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests, and goals; a group of people living in the same place or having a particular characteristic in common.” God created us for fellowship and community, first with Himself and then with others. Community is where we find friendship and acceptance. It is a place to relate to one another and find encouragement. A community of like-minded people is a beautiful thing; it is a needed thing.

I had one of these times of connection and community this past week, and I will always treasure it in my heart. At the therapy center we attend each week I see the same families there week after week because we have therapy at the same time. All the parents wait in the waiting room while the children are in the back working with the therapists. Mostly parents keep to themselves and work on other things or stay on their phones the whole therapy hour. However, this past week was different. I am slowly starting to talk to some of the moms, who attend therapy with us, and last week they asked me about Abigail and I was able to share our story and hear theirs.

It was a blessing to hear these moms tell their own stories. They have been exactly where we are now, and it was encouraging to see these moms on the other side of the coin. They both have daughters with chromosomal disorders. One has a three-year old and the other has an eight-year old. Neither of their daughters will ever be able to be independent. Neither of their daughters will ever talk nor walk, at least not for long distances. They know these realities, and yet they are strong women who love their daughters fiercely. They are fighters and strong moms who even have other children to take care of besides their special needs child. They were an inspiration to this mama!

These ladies reached out to me, and helped me remember how much I needed community. And how much I am a part of this special needs community that is growing day by day. I am thankful these ladies and other special needs moms will be in my life for the foreseeable future as we continue therapy. I hope to have more conversations with them that might lead to friendship and an even deeper community. That is the thing about community – it grows and expands as you grow and expand. I have lived many chapters in my life and in each one I have specific friends and communities that I still carry in my heart. I am thankful for this new community I have being introduced to. I am thankful for others who reach out to me, and want to join me in community.

Leave a Reply

