The Game of Life

IMG_7225

Our family Cribbage board

We are a card playing family, and Cribbage has always been a favorite. I grew up playing Cribbage and now when I stay over at my parents’ house for a long weekend we always try to get a game or two in. If you do not know how to play Cribbage that’s okay. This post is not about that. Basically, all you need to understand is that those pegs pictured are what you count with. You obviously want to have the most points, and have your pegs in the lead. A lot of times though you get dealt not so great hands and your poor pegs lag further and further behind everyone else’s. In Cribbage you can get so far behind the winner you get skunked. It’s a very technical term. Basically, if you lose you don’t want to lose so bad you get skunked. See, it’s really a rather fun family game! And two fun facts about this particular Cribbage board: 1.) my brother made this by hand (pegs and all) for my mom’s birthday one year, so it’s a very special board. 2.) See those words my mom wrote on the board, “Heater’s Curve.” It is supposed to be my name not Heater. This is the particular spot on the board I always began to lose, no matter how far I was in the lead. It became the family joke that when I was approaching this curve they knew I was going to start losing, so Mom nicknamed it Heather’s Curve, or at least she thought she did. Yes, my own mother misspelled my name, so now it’s affectionately called, “Heater’s Curve.”

The game of Cribbage, and many games in fact, is just like life. Sometimes you get dealt great hands that make you feel good and help you win, and sometimes you get awful hands that do not move you ahead at all. You feel like you are stuck in quicksand of life, and you will never catch up to the people ahead of you. This is often how being a special needs parent feels like. Every time your child does something good or conquers a task you realize that your friend’s baby did that six months or two years ago. As other children progress around you, you feel as if you are chugging as you hard as can and still are not able to gain any ground.

I am so excited, and so is everyone else because Abigail loves to give hugs now! It is precious and makes you feel extra loved when she wraps those little arms so tightly around your neck. She is truly the best hugger! She is beginning to eat better and better and even attempting to eat on her own in small ways. She is rolling from side to side and trying to sit up and move so much more. There are signs of progress everywhere. But right when we are gaining so much progress, I took her to the eye doctor because we have seen some small concerns with her eyes twitching, not focusing, and going cross-eyed. Well it is a good thing I took her because her muscles in her eyes are very weak. While the eye itself is as healthy as can be, the muscles are not controlling her eyes properly. So, soon Abigail will begin wearing glasses to try to strengthen those muscles. She has four months in glasses, and then if there is no progress the next step is surgery.

IMG_7232

When we feel like we are gaining ground with negative genetic testing and physical progress, we are hit with this reality. Our little girl may be faced with eye surgery at the end of the year. Oh, we are praying these glasses are miracle glasses!! But in our two-year journey we have seen this over and over. We gain some ground and are reassured everything will be okay and we will overcome anything, and then we are told she has very low muscle tone, it might be a genetic problem, there are still no answers, or that surgery may be the only solution. The life of a special needs parent is one big rollercoaster of emotion, filled with excitement, worry, and the unknown.

Through it all though I am thankful that life is not just one big game. We are not pawns being pushed around a board. Through it all God has a purpose for each and every person. He knows what we are going through, and He has a beautiful plan unfolding everyday. Is it frustrating? YES. Is it lonely? YES. Is it what I would choose? No. But it is still a beautiful plan, and I trust that with all my heart. In the end, I am thankful for this plan, this path of life God has set us on. It is making me a better person, a more trusting person. The last two years has changed me, and giving me a whole new perspective on life. Do I want this for my little girl? Never in a million years, but this is the life God has blessed us with and we will take each day and be thankful for the gift it is. We have so much to be thankful for, and I will not ever forget that!

IMG_7161

Our happy little blessing!

Leave a Reply

