The Simple Life

IMG_7352

We just went on a short trip to Chattanooga, Tennessee with my parents. It was just the three of us and them, but we had a great getaway. Nana and Poppa took Abigail swimming. We visited the park and rode the carousel, walked the foot bridge and got ice cream. Then we took a trip to the aquarium and the zoo. It was a quick, but full trip and we all had fun. But this trip, as going out to any place, always reminds me that my baby girl is not normal.

Abigail could care less about the fish and the animals. She was more interested in eating her food and hugging whoever was carrying her at the moment. She is a very social baby, and loves giving out those precious hugs. As much as Abigail has improved at noticing her environment and being aware of things around her, she still never even noticed that we were surrounded by new creatures and that we were in a new place. She had her family with her and that is all she needed. It is frustrating at times that we go places and she has no idea where we are, or what is going on around her, but then you see that little smile spread across her face and you realize that she is enjoying just being with us.

IMG_7398

At the zoo with Nana and Poppa!

So often I wish that we could do fun things with Abigail that she would enjoy. I wished while we were at the zoo to see her eyes light up as the birds and monkeys wandered up to the enclosure to see her. I wish she could stand up and run around so we would have to catch up to her. I wish she could communicate her excitement when that giant fish swam right by her hand. I want to be able to take her places like the local splash pad, and the children’s museums and things like that. I want to be able to cook with her and run around catching bubbles and drawing on the sidewalk. Oh I want these precious memories. My mama heart is often sad because I feel like Abigail is missing out on so much.

But then I see her smile as she gives me the biggest and best hug of my life. I see her excitement as I pull out her scooter so she can ride around the house. I watch her eyes light up when Daddy comes home from work. I hear her squeals of laughter when we take our daily stroller rides. And I watch her splash away as we float around the pool. No, the things we do might not be exciting in the world’s eyes. No, the activities Abigail enjoys may not be normal toddler activities. And no, we will win no award for an adventurous life. But our simple little life is good! We are happy and have a little girl who is so joyful, and for that I am thankful.

IMG_7449

That smile is a ray of sunshine!

Maybe one day we will be able to do these things with Abigail, but I am thankful for today. I am thankful for a little simple getaway with my parents. I am thankful for my simple days I spend with my little girl. I am thankful for her joy in the small things. I am thankful that I have these moments to treasure in my heart forever. And I am ever thankful for a little girl who is making her own path in this world.

happiness

Leave a Reply

