Building a Community

What an adorable girl you have.

She is just beautiful.

What a happy girl.

Her smile is the cutest.

That hair!

These are just some comments we receive from strangers while we are out and about with Abigail. She is too cute for her own good. I tell Jordan all the time that I do not know how we made such a cutie. Her blonde hair, blue eyes, contagious smile, and now her little pink glasses make an adorable combination. You see, Abigail looks completely normal. Nobody with would think twice that she has a developmental delay. Often people are shocked, or they just do not understand, that she is not able to sit or stand on her own.

IMG_6866

Our beautiful girl!!

I guess most people consider special needs children to look or act a certain way. But special needs covers a wide variety of conditions from speech delays to the autism spectrum to severe cases of cerebral palsy. And that does not even cover the other thousands of syndromes and genetic disorders that are known today. People are so quick to judge the little boy in the wheelchair or the little girl with Down’s syndrome, but they do not realize that children like Abigail have some of the exact same issues.

I have to watch myself when we are out and about because I catch myself staring at families that have disabled or special needs children. Not in judgment, but simply because I can relate with them and I want to encourage them. But they take one look at Abigail and they would never guess that we were the same in any way. The other day we were in the check out line of Wal-Mart, and a mom and her two daughters got behind us. The one daughter was in a wheelchair, so I immediately wanted to talk to her and make a connection. Thankfully, she commented on how cute Abigail was and I was able to talk about how we just recently received her glasses and found my lead in to say, “Yes, we are alike!” Turns out her daughter’s and Abigail’s stories were quite similar in the beginning. Her daughter did not walk until she was four, she has no diagnoses, and they go to therapy too. It was wonderful to make that small connection, and I wish we could have kept talking, but it is hard to do that in a check out line.

I live for these connections with other special needs parents. They are people who can relate because we have all journeyed down similar paths. My passions are slowly being molded to start a special needs ministry for parents in some way. I have always wanted to be in ministry since God called me in 2010. I always figured I would be apart of a women’s ministry of some kind, but know I feel more and more led to special needs. It is where I am in life as a mother of a special needs child myself. And yes, while our children may all be experiencing their own struggles and triumphs, all special needs parents share a common bond. We are all struggling to find our way through emotions, bills, insurance companies, appointments, and still raising our kids to thrive in their environment. It is a lot, and we need each other. So my daughter may be the cutest thing in the world, and look like she has is all together but her mama needs those other parents to understand that I need them and we need each other. So today I am praying that God works in and through myself, my community, and that He can use me to bless other special needs parents in some way great or small.

special needs

 

Leave a Reply

